Staff and Governance

Our dedicated staff are loved by the children and parents alike. We have a high staff/child ratio ensuring that the children’s academic and pastoral needs are well cared for.

Our goal is to teach to the highest standards the many subjects we offer so that children pass examinations successfully. We attach equal importance to inspiring your children with enthusiasm and a love of learning which will be an asset for life.

Northbourne Park is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and all members of staff, teaching or non-teaching have undertaken an enhanced DBS check.

Governing Body 2017/18

Patron – The Rt. Hon. The Lord Northbourne

President – The Lady Northbourne

Chair of Governors
Stephanie Aiyagari (Chair Elect & responsibility for Safeguarding and Child Protection)

Chair of the Finance & General Purposes Committee (F&GP)
Anthony Lucas

Chair of the Education Committee
(to be confirmed)

Susie Barter
Professor Ben Hutchinson
Mat Doran
Henry James
Becky Jones
Marco Keir
Marian Nairac
Fiona Poole (Chair of Remuneration Committee)

The Chair of Governors can be contacted by writing to:
The Chair of Governors
Northbourne Park school
Betteshanger,  DEAL
Kent    CT14 0NW


Headmaster – Sebastian Rees BA (Hons), PGCE, NPQH

Teaching Staff (Prep School)

Janet Carpenter – BA (Hons) Diploma SEN, NPQH (Head of Learning Support)
Dominic Chambers – BSc (Hons), QTS (Junior Form Teacher)
Jazmin Cioffi – (Learning Support Teaching Assistant)
Elisa Esteve – BSc, PGCE, (Spanish) (Head of Boarding)
Lucy Gleave – BA, PGCE, (Director of Music)
Alison Goodall – BA (Hons), PGCE (Head of English)
Elizabeth Hayes – MA, BSc, PGCE (R.S.)
Marie Hutchinson – Licence (TB), Maitrise (TB), (Head of Modern Languages)
Amanda Linder – BSc, Diploma Education, (Head of Science)
Anne-Sophie Martindale – BA, PGCE (Art)
Patrick Papougnot – Maitrise Sciences Naturelles French classes Maths and Science
Sophie Papougnot – BTS, Diploma (OU), TEFL (Head of Section Francaise Bilingue)
Craig Riley – BA, (Director of Sport)
Christie Riley – BA, (Junior Subjects Head of History and Girls’ Games)
Priscilla Smith – BSc (Hons), Forest School Leader, (Director of Outdoor Education)
Dale Spencer – BSc, PGCE (Deputy Head)
Viv Withey – BSc, PGCE (Junior Form Teacher -Year 3)

Teaching Staff (Pre-Prep School)

Head of Department – Gillian Rees, MA, BA (Hons), PGCE, NPQH
Sue Beevers – (Teaching Assistant)
Sally Belson – (Teaching Assistant)
Carla Herring – (Teaching Assistant)
Tracey Mason – BEd (Hons), MA (Nursery Teacher)
Kathryn Morton – (Teaching Assistant)
Gillian Rees – MA, BA (Hons), PGCE, NPQH (Year 2 Teacher)
Fiona Richardson – BSc, PGCE (Year 1 Teacher)
Richard Smith – BSc (Hons), PGCE (Reception Year Teacher)

Visiting Teachers

James Bellas – Spanish guitar
Christopher Berriman – Piano (pre-prep department)/Organ
Robin Burrows – Guitar
Anthony Burwash – Fencing
John Cullis – Cello                 
Gawain Douglas – Singing                 
Nicolette Douglas – Piano
Amanda Gregory – Recorder
Mark Gregson – LAMDA
Nicky Pound – Piano
Catherine Smith – Woodwind
Dave White – Percussion
Sophie Williamson – Percussion (pre-prep department)
Amanda Wyatt – Violin

Non-Teaching Staff

Zoe Callesen – Gap Student
Shaun Carlton – ICT Manager
Deborah Coe – Laboratory Technician
Emilie Dewavrin – French Language Assistant
Emmeline Henderson – Pre-Prep Administrator
Graham Hogben – Maintenance
Jackie Jones – School Administrator
Ritchie Love – Transport Manager
Daniel Merrick – Gap Student
Jason Merry – Maintenance
Dolrick Percy – Security & Groundsman
Claire Percy – Marketing, PR & Lettings Co-ordinator, Alumni Secretary
Patrick Reeves-Dienes – Graduate Assistant
Amy Richardson – House Parent
Jess Rolfe – Graduate Assistant 
Helen Searle – Graduate Assistant               
Sophie Taberner – Graduate Assistant
Maureen White – School Matron
The Rev. Nigel Hale – Chaplain